马丁 • 菲尔逊,美国建筑协会会员
(email: martinfelsen@qq.com)

马丁 • 菲尔逊,美国建筑协会会员,使注册建筑师,都市实验室的主创人。本科毕业于弗吉尼亚理工大学(建筑学学士,1991届),研究生毕业于哥伦比亚大学(1994届),自1996年,他便在伊利诺伊理工大学(IIT)建筑学院任教,教专业课设计。

在纽约为艾森曼建筑事务所、斯坦 • 艾伦建筑事务所、1100建筑事务所工作以后,他与合伙人莎拉 • 邓恩(杜莎拉)创建了都市实验室(UrbanLab),致力于建筑与城市规划的事务所。都市实验室致力于通过开发设计建筑、基建、城市的设计策略来应对日前现代城市不断涌现的复杂性、成长性和问题,尤其是研究自然和人工系统支撑的建筑环境。目前已建成的项目涉及住宅、公寓、混合功能商业综合体、餐厅、公共艺术/教育装置、和像休闲景观带的城市基建项目。于此同时,马丁不仅仅只做实际项目,作为科研项目的主要负责人,有着被国家科学基金会(NSF)和美国建筑师协会资助的科研经费。马丁的研究方向落在美国城市和大区域下的公共空间、公共基础设施和公共资源。

马丁在建筑与城市规划方面的工作与成就已经被诸多出版物中提及,并获得了多项荣誉。 2007年,他从美国建筑师协会芝加哥分会获得颁发的“杜宾家•青年建筑师奖”;同年,都市实验室的项目“增长之水”被选为国家历史频道的“未来城市”竞赛的全国冠军。 2009年,马丁获得美国建筑师协会颁发的“拉特罗布奖”。都市实验室的建筑与城市规划项目多次获得由美国建筑师协会颁发的设计大奖。 2010年都市实验室被列入建筑联盟主办的新兴之声系列讲座。马丁被芝加哥公共电台(WBEZ)评为“全球最有远见的人”。 2012年,都市实验室的作品“公共大地”被策划人大卫•奇普菲尔选入威尼斯双年展。 出版都市实验室设计项目与研究工作的出版物包括《建筑》、《建筑实录》、《纽约时报》、《芝加哥论坛报》等。

马丁同时还担任“建筑工作”董事会成员之一,一个致力于研究芝加哥现代社区的城市设计问题的非营利性教育机构。同时还担任的董事会成员的组织有:“设计历史基金会”、“建筑师报纸的编辑顾问委员会”、“扩建建筑画廊”董事会等。


莎拉 • 邓恩(杜莎拉)

莎拉 • 邓恩在2000年与马丁•菲尔逊合伙创建了都市实验室。她曾就读于哥伦比亚大学,并获得了建筑学硕士学位(1994年)。莎拉目前在伊利诺伊大学芝加哥分校建筑学院当一名副教授。

在给位于荷兰鹿特丹的大都会建筑事务所(OMA)工作后,她和合伙人与马丁 • 菲尔逊合伙创建了都市实验室,一个建筑设计与城市规划的合作事务所。都市实验室致力于通过开发建筑、基础设施和都市化的设计策略,来应对现代都市的复杂性、成长性。已建成项目至今包括住宅、混合用途建筑、餐厅、建筑装置、城市基建项目。

莎拉在建筑和城市规划方面的工作成果和专业知识已在诸多出版物中强调了,同样也收到许多荣誉。在2007年,都市实验室的项目“增长之水”被选为国家历史频道的“未来城市”竞赛的全国冠军。2009年,都市实验室获得美国建筑师协会颁发的“拉特罗布奖”;都市实验室的建筑与城市规划项目多次获得由美国建筑师协会颁发的设计大奖。2010年都市实验室被列入建筑联盟主办的新兴之声系列讲座;莎拉被芝加哥公共电台(WBEZ)评为“全球最有远见的人”。2012年,都市实验室的作品“公共大地”被策划人大卫•奇普菲尔选入威尼斯双年展。2015年,都市实验室的“过滤之岛”项目在芝加哥首届双年展展出。出版都市实验室设计项目与研究工作的出版物包括《建筑》、《建筑实录》、《纽约时报》、《芝加哥论坛报》等。

莎拉目前担任《建筑师的报纸》编辑委员会的成员。

Martin Felsen, FAIA
(email: felsen at urbanlab dot com)

Martin Felsen, FAIA, co-founded UrbanLab in 2000. He is a registered architect in Illinois and New York. He was educated at Virginia Tech (BArch, 1991), and Columbia University (MS-AAD, 1994). Martin is a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects, and he is an Associate Professor in the Illinois Institute of Technology’s (IIT) College of Architecture.

After working for Eisenman Architects, Stan Allen Architects and 1100 Architects in New York, he and partner Sarah Dunn established UrbanLab, a collaborative architecture and urban design firm. UrbanLab strives to respond to the complexity, growth and unintended consequences of the modern city by developing a catalogue of architectural, infrastructural and urbanistic design strategies, in particular examining natural and artificial systems underpinning the built environment. Built work to date includes houses, housing, mixed-use buildings, restaurants, installations, and urban infrastructural projects. Parallel to this realized work, Martin is a Principal Investigator for research projects funded by organizations such as the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the American Institute of Architect’s College of Fellows. His research focuses on public space, public infrastructure and public resources in American (and American-style) cities and megaregions.

Martin received the Dubin Family Young Architect Award in 2007 from the American Institute of Architects (AIA) Chicago. Also in 2007 UrbanLab was named as the national winner of the History Channel’s “City of the Future” competition for a proposal titled “Growing Water.” UrbanLab won the American Institute of Architects (AIA) College of Fellows Latrobe Prize in 2009, and UrbanLab’s architecture and urban design projects have won several design awards from the AIA. In 2010 UrbanLab was included in the Emerging Voices lecture series sponsored by the Architectural League. In 2012, UrbanLab exhibited work at the Venice Biennale in "Common Ground" curated by David Chipperfield, and in 2015, UrbanLab exhibited "Filter Island" at the Chicago Biennial. Publications presenting UrbanLab’s design and research work include Architecture, Architectural Record, the New York Times and the Chicago Tribune.

Martin serves on the Board of Archeworks, a non-profit educational organization working on contemporary community-based urban design issues in Chicago. He also serves on the Board of Places: Design History Foundation and the Editorial Advisory Board of the Architect’s Newspaper.


Sarah Dunn
(email: dunn at urbanlab dot com)

Sarah Dunn co-founded UrbanLab in 2000. She was educated at Columbia University (M.Arch, 1994). Sarah is an Associate Professor in the School of Architecture at the University of Illinois at Chicago.

After working at the Office for Metropolitan Architecture (OMA) in Rotterdam, she and partner Martin Felsen established UrbanLab, a collaborative architecture and urban design firm. UrbanLab strives to respond to the complexity, growth and unintended consequences of the modern city by developing a catalogue of architectural, infrastructural and urbanistic design strategies, in particular examining natural and artificial systems underpinning the built environment. Built work to date includes houses, housing, mixed-use buildings, restaurants, installations, and urban infrastructural projects.

Sarah’s work and expertise in architecture and urban design has been highlighted in numerous publications, and she has received several honors for her work. In 2007 UrbanLab was named as the national winner of the History Channel’s “City of the Future” competition for a proposal titled “Growing Water.” UrbanLab won the American Institute of Architects College of Fellows Latrobe Prize in 2009, and UrbanLab’s architecture and urban design projects have won several design awards from the American Institute of Architects. In 2010 UrbanLab was included in the Emerging Voices lecture series sponsored by the Architectural League. In 2012, UrbanLab exhibited work at the Venice Biennale in "Common Ground" curated by David Chipperfield, and in 2015, UrbanLab exhibited "Filter Island" at the Chicago Biennial. Publications presenting UrbanLab’s design and research work include Architecture, Architectural Record, the New York Times and the Chicago Tribune.

Sarah serves on the Editorial Advisory Board of the Architect’s Newspaper.